Review: Pale by Chris Wooding


Pale by Chris Wooding

Title: Pale
Author: Chris Wooding
Pages: 67
Source: NetGalley
Language: English
Published: September 10, 2012
Publisher: Stoke Books
ISBN: 9781781120910

Goodreads Summary :

The Lazarus Serum can bring you back from the dead. Only thing is, it turns you into a Pale. Jed can’t imagine anything worse, but then the choice is taken out of his hands…

Amazon.com | Amazon.de | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

My Thoughts:

So this is a REALLY quick read. It’s only 67 pages which made me finish it in about an hour, maybe less. It felt like less. The Story was predictable but still well told.

I just would have loved to get to know the characters better and everything. It was a little too short for my taste. But I totally understand that I am not really the target audience so if I was an early reader this would be a nice start. It probably would make me want to read more in dept books like this.

Another thing I figured was, that this book can be considered Dystopian but it still has a lot of truth to the world as it is now. You would just have to switch “Pale” with “(Illegal) Immigrant” or “Ex-Prisoner” and it would still make as much sense as it does now. Made me think about the topic, especially as bullying at school is also a trending thing right now. Sadly.

So if you have an hour to kill you can check out this Novella or one of the other  16 or so books Chris Wooding wrote so far. That’s a lot isn’t it? Given that he is only 32…that’s only 2 years older than me. Gosh! I need to start do important things in my life!

Cover: This Cover reminded me SO MUCH of Starters by Lissa Price and as I loved her book I was probably not very objective about this one at first. Maybe this was also the reason why I was a little bit disappointed with this book which isn’t really fair. You shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover – and especially not by some other books cover!

Rating: 3 Chocolate Hearts

Rating 3

Counts for these Challenges:


One response to “Review: Pale by Chris Wooding

  1. As you’ve signed up for the *Tea & Books Reading Challenge* on my blog, here’s just a little reminder that you’ve still got three more weeks to finish the challenge!
    Latest Update Post (plus Giveaway, yay) can be found here:
    http://the-book-garden.blogspot.com/2012/12/tea-books-reading-challenge-giveaway.html

Leave a Reply

