Review: Unbreak my Heart by Melissa C. Walker


Unbreak my Heart by Melissa C. Walker

Title: Unbreak my Heart
Author: Melissa C. Walker
Pages: 240
Source: NetGalley
Language: English
Published: May 22, 2012
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s Books
ISBN: 9781599905280

Goodreads Summary :

Sophomore year broke Clementine Williams’ heart. She fell for her best friend’s boyfriend and long story short: he’s excused, but Clem is vilified and she heads into summer with zero social life.

Enter her parents’ plan to spend the summer on their sailboat. Normally the idea of being stuck on a tiny boat with her parents and little sister would make Clem break out in hives, but floating away sounds pretty good right now.

Then she meets James at one of their first stops along the river. He and his dad are sailing for the summer and he’s just the distraction Clem needs. Can he break down Clem’s walls and heal her broken heart?

Told in alternating chapters that chronicle the year that broke Clem’s heart and the summer that healed it, Unbreak My Heart is a wonderful dual love story that fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Susane Colasanti will flock to.

Amazon.com | Amazon.de | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

My Thoughts:

If you are looking for a light quick summer read then this is for you! But be warned! You might – just as I did – desperately want to go on holiday (preferably on a boat) after you’ve read this. Don’t blame me for it in the end, I told you :).

What I like about the book that it is two stories in one. So one story is Clem going on a sailing trip over the summer with her family and the second story is the past year at school and how all the mess she got into started. So you slowly get to know Clem and her story over time.

This isn’t a book with a lot of stuff going on or twists or thrilling moments but it doesn’t have to. It’s a quiet little story more about feelings and relationships than about a big plot. I for myself liked it.

Also it wasn’t like all happiness and everything more about how to get it back. This made me think a little and also left a cosy feeling within me when I finished reading it.

Cover: I adore this cover. It is simple but I liked it the second I saw it and made me want to read the book. And it didn’t let me down.

Rating: 5 Chocolate Hearts

Rating 5

Counts for these Challenges:


3 responses to “Review: Unbreak my Heart by Melissa C. Walker

  1. Isn’t odd how much the cover affects our book choices? This looks like a good one, and I’ll have to check it out. It’s always hard to know the good from the bad. Thanks for posting!

  2. Pingback: 2012 Challenges Summary: BA’s Free Reads Reading Challenge « Bookish Ardour

Leave a Reply

