Review: Starters by Lissa Price


Starters by Lissa Price

Title: Starters (Starters #1)
Author: Lissa Price
Pages: 352
Source: NetGalley
Language: English
Published: March 13, 2012
Publisher: Random House Children’s Books
ISBN: 9780385742375

Goodreads Summary :

In the future, teens rent their bodies to seniors who want to be young again. One girl discovers her renter plans to do more than party–her body will commit murder, if her mind can’t stop it. Sixteen-year-old Callie lost her parents when the genocide spore wiped out everyone except those who were vaccinated first–the very young and very old.

With no grandparents to claim Callie and her little brother, they go on the run, living as squatters, and fighting off unclaimed renegades who would kill for a cookie. Hope comes via Prime Destinations, run by a mysterious figure known only as The Old Man. He hires teens to rent their bodies to seniors, known as enders, who get to be young again. Callie’s neurochip malfunctions and she wakes up in the life of her rich renter, living in her mansion, driving her cars, even dating Blake, the grandson of a senator. It’s a fairy-tale new life . . . until she uncovers the Body Bank’s horrible plan. . . .

Amazon.com | Amazon.de | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

My Thoughts:

I just finished this Book a few Minutes ago. Wow, this was a good one! I was kept in the story after just a few pages and after that there was not one moment I didn’t want to know what would happen next and believe me, it happened a lot! There were a lot of smaller and medium twists in it and also a few big ones. I’m not going to spoiler you, don’t worry. I hate it myself to be spoilered.

Also the Idea that was used about old people renting young peoples bodies was something fresh and new to me. Haven’t seen that before and made me really want to read it. And I am so glad it didn’t disappoint me it was even better than I thought in the beginning.

Since I read the Hunger Games I was searching for another nice Dystopian and this one was right up that Alley. Ok, it is not the Hunger Games but I still gave it 5 Chocolate Hearts which doesn’t happen very often. I definitely recommend it!

Oh, and I just realised that this – as I already guessed – is really the first book in a Series. Really looking forward to the next one!

Cover: I like the Cover design even tho it is so different to the Covers that I normally like but maybe that’s what intrigued me to request it on NetGalley. Which reminds me of wanting to thank Random House for giving me the book to review!

Rating: 5 Chocolate Hearts

Rating 5

Counts for these Challenges:


4 responses to “Review: Starters by Lissa Price

  1. Nice review. I want to read this book now; it sounds really good. I’m glad it lived up to expectations. I remember reading the blurb in your IMM some weeks ago and wishing I could read the book too.

  2. Pingback: 2012 Challenges Summary: BA’s Free Reads Reading Challenge « Bookish Ardour

Leave a Reply

