IMM #4 – In my Mailbox January 8th, 2012


This week I didn’t really plan to get new books but had to return some to  the Library so I couldn’t resist to get some of my List I made for my Challenges. But only two of the Books are planned for Challenges, the other two ones I just took because I liked them when I saw them.


Books I got at the Library:

Die Frau des Zeitreisenden (The Time Traveller’s Wife) by Audrey Niffenegger

This is one of the Books I got on my List for the reading Challenges. I think it counts for at least 8 Reading Challenges. That’s a lot! The funny thing is, that I went to the Library to get it and when I stood in front of the shelf, looking for it and finally found it, I was like “Huh?” because it’s about half the size of “real” books. It’s like the child version of a book. Somehow that’s really cute but also a little strange. It is short in size  but big in length because it has more than 800 pages. (What qualifies it also for the Chunkster Challenges! YAY!). Most of you prolly have already read it (except me) but for these who haven’t heard of it yet, here is the Summary.

Goodreads Summary:

When Henry meets Clare, he is twenty-eight and she is twenty. Henry has never met Clare before; Clare has known Henry since she was six. Impossible but true, because Henry finds himself periodically displaced in time, pulled to moments of emotional gravity from his life, past and future. Henry and Clare’s attempts to live normal lives are threatened by a force they can neither prevent nor control, making their passionate love story intensely moving and entirely unforgettable. The Time Traveler’s Wife is a story of fate, hope and belief, and more than that, it’s about the power of love to endure beyond the bounds of time.

Blogging Queen  by Jutta Profijt

I am not sure what drew my Attention first. The Cover or the Title but when I saw it I knew I HAD to get it. Other than that I just realised that this is another book by a german author. I was sure, that this is an american book but it isn’t. This is one of the books that weren’t on my list but I am looking forward to reading this one.

Summary by me:

After Stewardess Lulu got an ear infection and couldn’t work in her Job anymore she started a Fashion blog that became a huge success. Soon she is one of the leading Trendsetters. Everything could be so nice wouldn’t suddenly the Police arrive at her doorstep…


Frankenstein by Mary W. Shelley

You might already have guessed, that this is another book on my List for the Challenges. And yes, this might be another book anyone except myself has already read. But now I have the chance to change that :). This is a brand new Book I might be the first one reading it. That’s so awesome. Looking forward to reading it.

Goodreads Summary:

Mary Shelley began writing Frankenstein when she was only eighteen. At once a Gothic thriller, a passionate romance, and a cautionary tale about the dangers of science, Frankenstein tells the story of committed science student Victor Frankenstein. Obsessed with discovering ?the cause of generation and life? and ?bestowing animation upon lifeless matter,? Frankenstein assembles a human being from stolen body parts but; upon bringing it to life, he recoils in horror at the creature?s hideousness. Tormented by isolation and loneliness, the once-innocent creature turns to evil and unleashes a campaign of murderous revenge against his creator, Frankenstein.

Frankenstein, an instant bestseller and an important ancestor of both the horror and science fiction genres, not only tells a terrifying story, but also raises rofound, disturbing questions about the very nature of life and the place of humankind within the cosmos: What does it mean to be human? What responsibilities do we have to each other? How far can we go in tampering with Nature? In our age, filled with news of organ donation genetic engineering, and bio-terrorism, these questions are more relevant than ever.

All Souls Trilogy #1: Die Seelen der Nacht (All Soulss Trilogy #1: A Discovery of Witches) by Deborah Harkness

I first saw this book on the Facebook page of the Publisher of the German version of this Book. They are hosting a Givewaway to win an iPad with the special design of the Book cover (and I think the e-book on it) and when I saw the Cover I just thought “Wow! Isn’t that pretty!” and “Need pretty iPad!” So I signed up for the Giveaway which I’m still waiting for the winner to be picked. Wish me luck! In case you are german speaking, here is the Giveaway .(The rest of you can look at it and tell me if they like the iPad design as much as I do 🙂 )

When I was at the library this week I went to the new arrivals shelf like I always do since I found this shelf, I saw this book on it and didn’t even think for a second whether to take it or not, I just grabbed it :). Especially I had to read the first chapter of the book already to be able to answer the questions for the giveaway so I already know a little bit how it is and I think I will like it. Looking forward to reading this one.

Goodreads Summary:

A richly inventive novel about a centuries-old vampire, a spellbound witch, and the mysterious manuscript that draws them together.

Deep in the stacks of Oxford’s Bodleian Library, young scholar Diana Bishop unwittingly calls up a bewitched alchemical manuscript in the course of her research. Descended from an old and distinguished line of witches, Diana wants nothing to do with sorcery; so after a furtive glance and a few notes, she banishes the book to the stacks. But her discovery sets a fantastical underworld stirring, and a horde of daemons, witches, and vampires soon descends upon the library. Diana has stumbled upon a coveted treasure lost for centuries-and she is the only creature who can break its spell.

That’s all of my actual Books but not all for this week because the One-Free-Book-A-Day Promotion on Amazon ended on Friday so I got a few more free Books including a few more of the always free Classics. As this would become a really long IMM I will just post the Cover and the Title/author of these. Thinking about changing my IMM to a shorter version in general but not sure if you want me to do it. Would you rather want to read a Summary of the Books or not? Please tell me in the comments!

E-Books from Amazon:

The Classics:

David Copperfield by Charles Dickens



Little Women #1: Little Women by Louisa May Alcott



The Freebies:

Die Schiller-Strategie: Die 33 Erfolgsgeheimnisse des Klassikers by Eva Wodarz-Eichner and Karsten Eichner



Böses Blut by Arne Dahl



Der verborgene Stern (Stars of Mithra #1: Hidden Star) by Nora Roberts



Heilige Scheiße: Wären wir ohne Religion besser dran? by Stefan Bonner and Anne Weiss


This is all of my E-Books of Amazon but I’m still not done. I just realised that I haven’t told you about the most exciting news of this week! Because I crossed off the first thing on my Goals for 2012 List. It’s the “Receive a Netgalley Book”. And I got not even one but two! Ok, both of them are already released but it’s still exciting! I got these two:

First Aid for Fairies by Lari Don

One more Summer by Liz Flaherty

That’s it for this week. See you next time and have a nice Day!


7 responses to “IMM #4 – In my Mailbox January 8th, 2012

  1. I love all the classics!

    Happy reading 😀

  2. Great set! I loved Time Traveler’s Wife. You’ll sob and sob.
    My IMM

  3. Love your post today; The Time Traveler’s Wife fascinated about time travel, so cool, but disturbed deeply with the story of older guy + much much younger girl (she is 6 at the start!), seems to say that all that is OK = problematic (the cover of the first edition is the “high socks and Mary Janes” lower legs of a little girl next to a pair of men’s shoes on a handkerchief or something (maybe underpants?). Disturbing as all get out. Not going to see the film. Love Frankenstein–so many levels in that book!! Wish I could read German (I only read French) these books are intriguing and give a window on what the rest of the world is reading! You go, girl!!

  4. If you’re quick (and want to!) you can catch the 2 or 3 part radio dramatisation of David Copperfield in BBC Radio 4 Extra.
    As this year is an important anniversay for Charles Dickens (I haven’t been paying attention!), the radio station is airing dramatisations of all (I think) of his books. Personally, I’m not a fan,but hey!
    I loved Little Women et al as a child – I wanted to be Jo. Hmmm…perhaps I’m closer than I realised!

    BBC radio programmes are available to listen again online for at least 7 days after final airing…pretty sure they’re available throughout Europe, not sure how the copyright laws affect the rest of the world.

Leave a Reply

