IMM #2 – In my Mailbox December 25th, 2011


First of all: Merry Christmas to all of you! I was looking forward to write my second IMM and so I am sitting here right next to my little Christmas tree and  writing this Post for you.

I had another real IMM Moment this week, I’m so excited! Also I want to tell you about my Book related Christmas gift.  No, I did not get a Book for Christmas, I got something A LOT better! I got a Kindle! I’m sooooo happy about it. In the past I collected already a few free ebooks for two reasons 1) because I thought of reading it on my laptop (but decided later, that this sucks) 2) because I hoped I would have a kindle one day but I didn’t think this would happen so quickly! So I downloaded them all on my Kindle immediately 🙂 and a few more from the free Top 100. But as they are a lot and I don’t know which of them are really new and not from the old collection I won’t mention them in this Post today. But from now on I will try to include them in my Future IMM posts. But now, let’s start with the oldschool version of books I got this week:

Books I got at the Library:

Uralte Metropole #1: Lycidas by Christoph Marzi

This Book I first saw at the Bookstore and I loooved the Cover. So then I went to the Library and found it but it had a different Cover and I was a little disappointed. But yeah, don’t judge a Book by it’s Cover, right? The Cover on the left is btw the one I didn’t like so much. Here you can see the one I liked.

This is again a German Author so the Original Language is German too and it doesn’t seem to be available in English (so far) so I will try to translate the Summary for you again.

Here is the Summary (translated by me):

Strange things are happening in London. In cruel Mr. Dombeys Orphanage, little Emily Laing can’t  believe her eyes. One Morning a Rat is talking to her in the kitchen and introducing himself politly as Lord Hironymus Brewster. An Illusion? No, soon after that Emily has to believe that there are mysterious creatures – when she witnessess a werewolf stealing a girl from the New Girls’ Dormitory.

Accompanied by a Rat, an Elf named Maurice Micklewhite and the grumpy Alchemist Wittgenstein, Emily searches for the lost Girl Mara. the Lead takes them in the old Metropolis, a mystic City under the City. A dark and dangerous empire in which fallen angels and antique divinities administer Human destiny. But why have all these Children been kidnapped? And who is the mysterious monarch of the old Metropolis named Lycidas?

Riley Bloom #1: Das Mädchen im Licht (Riley Bloom #1: Radiance) by Alyson Noel

This is another Book I first saw at the Book store (Yes, I see a lot books at the Bookstore that I want to have) and also got it at the Library. Do you remember that I told you that I maxed out the Limit of Books I’m allowed to have at once? I  bet you wonder how I got more books. The solution is, that I had to return two other books and so I could get two new. And I wasn’t strong enough to not do it.

I really like this Cover and also it’s a spin-off of the Evermore Series of which I read the first book already. I liked Riley, who is the little sister of the main character of Evermore, so I am looking forward to reading this one.

Goodreads Summary:

Riley has crossed the bridge into the afterlife—a place called Here, where time is always Now. She has picked up life where she left off when she was alive, living with her parents and dog in a nice house in a nice neighborhood. When she’s summoned before The Council, she learns that the afterlife isn’t just an eternity of leisure. She’s been assigned a job, Soul Catcher, and a teacher, Bodhi, a possibly cute, seemingly nerdy boy who’s definitely hiding something. They return to earth together for Riley’s first assignment, a Radiant Boy who’s been haunting a castle in England for centuries. Many Soul Catchers have tried to get him to cross the bridge and failed. But all of that was before he met Riley . . .

So in the beginning of the Post I told you that I had another IMM Moment this week. It was a smilar one than last week because I won another book at a publishers christmas Calendar! Woho! So this is it:

Smart Magic by Christoph Hardebusch

It was a different Publisher this time and the book looks AWESOME! It’s another Hardcover and has more than 500 pages and the Summary sounds nice too. I’m really happy about this win.

Despite the Title you might already have guessed that this one is another german only book. I’m sorry! I will really try to get more Books that are available in English too in the future :). So here is another Summary translated by myself.

Summary by me:

Tom is fifteen years old and living in Berlin. Life in a big City is hard. He doesn’t know his Parents, his foster father forces him to steal and only his older foster brother is something like a friend to him. But then he meets a Raven that is able to speak – and Tom starts trying to find out where he comes from. This Secret leads him to a World full of Magic…

Luckily, this week it was a much shorter IMM. I didn’t want to force you to read another wall of text like last week :). Hopefully I see you soon at my next IMM or maybe something else. Have a nice Holiday!

5 responses to “IMM #2 – In my Mailbox December 25th, 2011

  1. Congrats on the Kindle! By the way I saw that amazon.at offers free eBooks every day until January 6th – today they have five to choose from (I think you can only get one and not all, not sure) so you might want to check out this offer. HAPPY READING!!

  2. At Amazon.uk, the 12 Days of Christmas are cheap ebooks starting at £0.99.
    Tip: sort on your genre or whatever, then change the format to “Price: lowest to highest” and find free books that way :o)

    Love your second IMM Daisy – I’m following so I don’t miss any!

  3. Awesome IMM!! Looks like we both had an awesome Christmas. I got a Kindle as well!!! Yay for us!!! 😀

    My IMM: http://hopefaithbooks.blogspot.com/2011/12/in-my-mailbox-20-christmas-edition.html

    -Brittani

Leave a Reply

