My first IMM – In my Mailbox


Hey guys, long time no see.. again. But I won’t start moaning now, it is how it is and I rather look forward than backwards. So let’s get my First IMM – In my Mailbox started.

In case you don’t know IMM, here is a short Introduction. IMM was created by The Story Siren. IMM is really easy to understand as the title already says most of what it’s all about. The Story Siren is doing her IMM every Sunday I think but you can do it whatever day you like. You also don’t need to do one every week you can do as you wish. You can write a blogpost like I do or you can make a video or whatever else comes to your mind. In IMM you can show all the books you got in your mailbox during the week. It doesn’t technically have to be in your MAILBOX tho. Mine will be more of an “In my library bag” most of the time. Luckily this week I even had a real IMM-Moment but I will tell you about in the end of the post.

Introduction seems to be done now, so I can start with the books I got this week. First, as already mentioned, I will show you all the books I got at the Library – actually at two Libraries – but I have to warn you. It’s a HUGE pile! I managed to max out the limit of books I’m allowed to have again which is 25 books. But no, I didn’t get all of them this week so it’s not THAT bad. If you click on the Cover picture, then you will get to the Goodreads Page of the Book.

Books I got at the Libraries:

Final Empire #1: Kinder des Nebels (Mistborn: The Final Empire) by Brandon Sanderson

This Book I actually got for my bf because I already got it once in the past and he started reading a few pages and then I had to return it to the Library so I checked it out again for him, as he has no Library card yet. Maybe I’ll read it too but it’s pretty at the bottom of my TBR List.

Here is the Summary from Goodreads:

For a thousand years the ash fell and no flowers bloomed. For a thousand years the Skaa slaved in misery and lived in fear. For a thousand years the Lord Ruler, the “Sliver of Infinity,” reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror, divinely invincible. Then, when hope was so long lost that not even its memory remained, a terribly scarred, heart-broken half-Skaa rediscovered it in the depths of the Lord Ruler’s most hellish prison. Kelsier “snapped” and found in himself the powers of a Mistborn. A brilliant thief and natural leader, he turned his talents to the ultimate caper, with the Lord Ruler himself as the mark.

Kelsier recruited the underworld’s elite, the smartest and most trustworthy allomancers, each of whom shares one of his many powers, and all of whom relish a high-stakes challenge. Only then does he reveal his ultimate dream, not just the greatest heist in history, but the downfall of the divine despot.
But even with the best criminal crew ever assembled, Kel’s plan looks more like the ultimate long shot, until luck brings a ragged girl named Vin into his life. Like him, she’s a half-Skaa orphan, but she’s lived a much harsher life. Vin has learned to expect betrayal from everyone she meets, and gotten it. She will have to learn to trust, if Kel is to help her master powers of which she never dreamed.

Die Wetterwächter #1: Sturm der Dämonen (Weather Warden #1: Ill Wind) by Rachel Caine

I got this book for the 1st in Series Challenge and read already the first 50 pages but I didn’t really get into the story yet. Maybe because you are thrown into it immediately without explaining anything beforehand. I might skip this book for a while and read on later, not really decided about that yet. If it weren’t on my Challenge list I prolly would have never really looked at it because the Cover somehow puts me off. I don’t even know why because it is cool in it’s own way but… I can’t tell what it is that disturbes me about it.

Goodreads Summary:

Joanne Baldwin is a Weather Warden. Usually, all it takes is a wave of her hand to tame the most violent weather. But now, she’s trying to outrun another kind of storm: accusations of corruption and murder. So, she’s resorting to the very human tactic of running for her life…

Her only hope is Lewis, the most powerful warden known. Unfortunately, he’s stolen not one but three bottles of Djinn-making him the most wanted man on earth. Still, she’s racing hard to find him-before the bad weather closes in fast…

Allie Beckstrom #1: Magie im Blut (Allie Beckstrom #1: Magic to the Bones) by Devon Monk

This one is another Book for the 1st in Series Challenge. I heard good things about the Author by other Bookbloggers already so I’m looking forward to read this.

Goodreads Summary:

Working as a Hound-tracing illegal spells back to their casters-has taken its toll on Allison Beckstrom. But even though magic has given her migraines and stolen her recent memory, Allie isn’t about to quit. Then the police’s magic enforcement division asks her to consult on a missing persons case. But what seems to be a straightforward job turns out to be anything but, as Allie finds herself drawn into the underworld of criminals, ghosts, and blood magic.

Jill Kismet #1: Dämonenmal (Jill Kismet #1: Night Shift) by Lilith  Saintcrow

And another Book for the 1st in Series Challenge. There will come some more for this because it ends soon and I’m into this challenge a lot so I want to complete as much as possible for that. Also all of the books I read until end of December count for the Outdo Yourself Challenge so it is a win-win situation. The Summary sounds pretty good too.

Goodreads Summary:

Jill Kismet is a dealer in dark things and demon slayer, and it’s her job to patrol the nightside.In the cold pre-dawn, Jill is called in to assess the aftermath of a particularly savage cop-killing. Under the haunted eyes of the forensic techs, Jill picks up the stench of hellbreed and something else – something dangerous and tainted. But this makes no sense as hellbreed always work alone, distrusted even by their own kind.Jill’s a Hunter, trained by the best, but she’s in over her head. Welcome to the night shift

Nightfall #1: Schwingen der Nacht (The Maker’s Song #1: A Rush of Wings) by Adrian Phoenix

Another Book for the 1st in Series Challenge and also for the Chunkster Challenge as it has 500+ pages. Probably might not be able to finish this one on time but the Summary sounds really good so I will read it at least next year, if I’m lucky the 1st in Series Challenge will be hosted again then. The Cover also looks great I think.

Goodreads Summary:

HIS NAME IS DANTE.
Dark. Talented. Beautiful. Star of the rock band Inferno. Rumored owner of the hot New Orleans nightspot Club Hell. Born of the Blood, then broken by an evil beyond imagination.

HIS PAST IS A MYSTERY.
F.B.I. Special Agent Heather Wallace has been tracking a sadistic serial murderer known as the Cross Country Killer, and the trail has led her to New Orleans, Club Hell, and Dante. But the dangerously attractive musician not only resists her investigation, he claims to be “nightkind”: in other words, a vampire. Digging into his past for answers reveals little. A juvenile record a mile long. No social security number. No known birth date. In and out of foster homes for most of his life before being taken in by a man named Lucien DeNoir, who appears to guard mysteries of his own.

HIS FUTURE IS CHAOS.
What Heather does know about Dante is that something links him to the killer — and she’s pretty sure that link makes him the CCK’s next target. Heather must unravel the truth about this sensual, complicated, vulnerable young man — who, she begins to believe, may indeed be a vampire — in order to finally bring a killer to justice. But Dante’s past holds a shocking, dangerous secret, and once it is revealed not even Heather will be able to protect him from his destiny….

Abraham Lincoln: Vampirjäger (Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter) by Seth Grahame-Smith

Most Books I got at the Library this week I had on a List and I was just searching for and grabbing them. But this one wasn’t. I stumbled over it when I was looking for one of my other books on my List and remembered that I have seen it before and somehow thought that I heard good things about it, so I took it. Also… who wouldn’t take a book with this title! This Book would also count for the Chunkster Challenge as it is 484 pages long.

Goodreads Summary:

Abraham Lincoln was just a boy when he learned that his mother’s untimely death was actually the work of a vampire. From then on, he vowed to devote his intelligence, strength–and skill with an ax–to the elimination of the soulless creatures. It was a path of vengeance that would lead him all the way to the White House.

No one ever knew about Lincoln’s valiant struggle against the undead… until author Seth Grahame-Smith laid eyes on Abe’s secret journal–the first living person to do so in over 140 years. Putting a supernatural spin on revisionist history, Seth has reconstructed Lincoln’s true life story–while revealing the role vampires played in the birth, growth and near-death of our nation.

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

So this is my only Book I got this week that is actually in English. All of the others are in German. I wanted to read her Werewolf Trilogy for a while now but never managed to get a copy at the Library. No that’s not the full truth. I had the first Book once but didn’t read it until I had to return it – Fail! So lately one of the Bookbloggers talked about this Book and I “accidentally” found it at the Library when I was looking for something else (or nothing in particular really). As the Blogger talked positively about it I thought I should give it a try. When I was at home I realised that this one will count for the 2012 Book Bloggers Recommendation Challenge, wohoo! So I will read this one definitely not before January. Also I believe the Blogger compaired it with the Hunger Games and I LOOVED the Hunger Games so I’m pretty excited to read that one.

Goodreads Summary:

It happens at the start of every November: the Scorpio Races. Riders attempt to keep hold of their water horses long enough to make it to the finish line.

Some riders live.
Others die.

At age nineteen, Sean Kendrick is the returning champion. He is a young man of few words, and if he has any fears, he keeps them buried deep, where no one else can see them.

Puck Connolly is different. She never meant to ride in the Scorpio Races. But fate hasn’t given her much of a chance. So she enters the competition — the first girl ever to do so. She is in no way prepared for what is going to happen.

Ende der Märchenstunde: Wie die Industrie die Lohas und die Lifestyle-Ökos vereinnahmt by Kathrin Hartmann

So this is my only Non-Fiction Book I got this week. A few weeks ago I was nearly exclusively reading this kind of Non-Fiction books for a while but now I’m not so into that anymore. That Book still got my attention when I walked past it so I gave it a try. Just might not read it immediately. It’s about green living and how the Industry uses that for themselves.

It is written by a German Author and I don’t think it is published in English. There is no Goodreads Summary but I think what I said about the Book is already enough to give you an Idea. I’m not really sure if it is good anyway so I will tell you when I finished it. Then I can tell you more about what it is about.

Tote Mädchen lügen nicht (Thirteen Reasons why) by Jay Asher

I bet this one is already read by most of you or at least a lot. I heard so many good things about it so I HAD to have it. When I was at the Library I had both, the english and the german version, in my hands and it took me a while to decide which version I want. I decided for the easy way of a coward and took the german version :). I’m really looking forward to reading this one!

Goodreads Summary:

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

Through Hannah and Clay’s dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers.

Curse Workers #1: Weißer Fluch (Curse Workers #1: White Cat) by Holly Black

As I don’t really have the money to buy Books at the moment I started taking pictures when I was at a bookstore and found a Book I wanted to read. When I was at the Library this week I looked at this pictures and checked if the Library has it. And in this case they had, so I checked it out. First of all I really like the Cover and the Summary sounds promising.

Goodreads Summary:

Cassel comes from a family of curse workers — people who have the power to change your emotions, your memories, your luck, by the slightest touch of their hands. And since curse work is illegal, they’re all mobsters, or con artists. Except for Cassel. He hasn’t got the magic touch, so he’s an outsider, the straight kid in a crooked family. You just have to ignore one small detail — he killed his best friend, Lila, three years ago.

Ever since, Cassel has carefully built up a façade of normalcy, blending into the crowd. But his façade starts crumbling when he starts sleepwalking, propelled into the night by terrifying dreams about a white cat that wants to tell him something. He’s noticing other disturbing things, too, including the strange behavior of his two brothers. They are keeping secrets from him, caught up in a mysterious plot. As Cassel begins to suspect he’s part of a huge con game, he also wonders what really happened to Lila. Could she still be alive? To find that out, Cassel will have to out-con the conmen.

Letterland: Die Diamantenquelle by Johanna Trommer and Meryem Natalie Akdenizli

This is another Book that only exists in German even tho the Title sounds a little English. This is also one I got because of my pictures I took at the Bookstore. I liked the cover and the Summary sounds good. I will try to make one for you.

Summary (translated by myself):

13 year old Tinka really loves Books. One day she finds a mysterious letter which brings her and her friend Isabell to a Bookseller. There they learn about the existence of Grammaton, the mystical Land Letterland. The people who live in are living letters and are called Letterlinge. But Grammaton is in great danger..

Tinka and Isabell have to find a cursed Book named Atnaphias and take it to the Human world. That’s the only way to save Letterland.

Wow, you really made it to this point. I’m proud of you! So I told you in the beginning, that I also got one Book that wasn’t from the Library and this is kind of a funny story. Last Sunday a coll of mine from university, who is a writer, posted about a christmas calendar a publisher (dunno if it is HER publisher) put on Facebook. I immediately checked it out and realised that you can win a Book every Day which got me really excited. So it was clear that I wanted to participate in it which I did within minutes I think. When I checked my mailbox the next morning I had an email that told me that I won! The first day I tried. Wohoo! Awesome! And on Thursday this arrived in my Mailbox:

Indien zu Fuß by Oliver Schulz

Again a Book that is only available in German. (Sorry english speaking people) Maybe this will change in the Future. The Author of the Book went to India and wrote about the Experiences he made there.

So congratulations, you made it to the end of this very long Post, I promise that the next time my IMM won’t be that long anymore. Maybe I might try doing a Video if I can motivate myself and get over my shyness :). Until then, keep on reading!

8 responses to “My first IMM – In my Mailbox

  1. Hope you like Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter. It’s an enjoyable enough read.

  2. Wow, you are on a reading roll–though these are not my genre, I think you will really like The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obreht (and Goodreads did a video interview with her that is super!). But the tiger’s wife is out there! Otherworldly story, along with the subplot of the Deathless Man.

  3. Hi Daisy,

    Lovely post and lots of inspiration! Good luck with the challenges and the blog.
    Catch you soon
    Rose-C

  4. hey Daisy, loved your post. hope to see more of you soon.

    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

